Scientific Advisory Board

Our advisory board oversees and reviews the scientific innovation, integrity and relevancy of our program.

Comprised of three distinguished scientists and professors, the board combines expertise in electrochemistry; genomic biology; neurosciences; bioengineering; nonlinear spectroscopy; laser-based detectors for chromatography; capillary electrophoresis; trace gas monitoring; single-cell and single-molecule analysis; DNA sequencing; and data treatment procedures in chemical measurements.

Edward S. Yeung, Ph.D.

Edward Yeung received his B.A. in Chemistry from Cornell University and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of California at Berkeley. Since then, he has been on the chemistry faculty at Iowa State University, where he is currently a Robert Allen Wright Professor and Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences. His research interests span both spectroscopy and chromatography. He has published in areas such as nonlinear spectroscopy, laser-based detectors for chromatography, capillary electrophoresis, trace gas monitoring, single-cell and single-molecule analysis, DNA sequencing, and data treatment procedures in chemical measurements. Dr. Yeung has received numerous awards and honors recognized below:

  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship
  • Has been appointed Honorary Professor of
    • Zhengzhou University
    • Zhongshan University
    • Xiamen University
    • Hunan University
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation
  • Four separate R&D 100 Awards
  • Lester W. Strock Award
  • Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award
  • L. S. Palmer Award
  • ACS Fisher Award in Analytical Chemistry
  • Frederick Conference on Capillary Electrophoresis Award
  • Eastern Analytical Symposium Award in Analytical Chemistry
  • Eastern Analytical Symposium Award in Separation Science
  • ACS Award in Chromatography
  • International Prize of the Belgian Society of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry
  • Golay Award

Daniel A. Buttry, Ph.D.

Professor Buttry earned a B.A. with highest distinction in chemistry, magna cum laude, in 1979 at the University of Colorado in Colorado Springs. He subsequently attended the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, receiving a Ph.D. degree in Electrochemistry in 1983. After graduating, he accepted a position as a Member of the Research Staff at IBM’s San Jose Research Lab (now the Almaden Research Lab). In 1985, he moved to the University of Wyoming as an assistant professor, where his research effort was initially focused on applications of the quartz crystal microbalance in electrochemistry, thin film materials and chemical sensor research and development. He became a professor in 1992 and served as head of the department from 1999–2002. In 2008, he moved to the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at Arizona State University as a professor of chemistry, and became chair in 2012. Dr. Buttry has over 100 publications in the areas of advanced instrumentation, chemical sensors and environmental measurements, and 12 US patents. He is a reviewer for many technical journals and several private and government funding agencies, including the National Science Foundation and National Institutes of health. His research group has been supported by many agencies and companies, including the W. M. Keck Foundation, the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, the Army Research Office and the Department of Energy, including ARPA-E

Jonathan V. Sweedler, Ph.D.

Jonathan Sweedler is the William H. and Janet Lycan professor of chemistry and is the director of the Roy J. Carver Biotechnology Center at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. A faculty member of the university's Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology and Institute for Genomic Biology, he is also affiliated with the neuroscience and bioengineering programs. His research emphasizes analytical neurochemistry. Specific technology areas include the development of analytical methods for assaying complex microenvironments, capillary electrophoresis separation methods, laser-based detection methods, MALDI sampling techniques, nanoliter volume NMR and micro/nanofluidic sampling. His second research theme is the application of these technologies to discover novel neurochemical pathways, the study of the distribution and dynamic release of neuropeptides and classical transmitters, as well as their metabolism, in a cell-specific manner. Among the prizes Jonathan Sweedler has been awarded are:

  • Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award
  • Heinrich-Emanuel Merck Prize
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation
  • Arthur Findeis Award for Young Analytical Scientists
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Chicago Chromatography Discussion Group Merit Award